top of page

An Eagle Among Lions


Don't get used to the daily posts, because no way will I remember to blog everyday. But shopping has definitely become an issue over here. There are so many things that are so readily available in the USA that just aren't known here. For example, My darling roommate would absolutely kill for some Diet Coke, which is only available in select vending machines here. For me, it's he lack of M&M's. I would love some plain M&M's, but they cost nearly an arm and a leg here (if you can find them). Those are definitely going to be something that I'm going to have to bring back to Spain when come home for Christmas.

Amazon pantry is great, but there are definitely some translation difficulties. For example, I bought the world's smallest bag of flour and in a sort of strange turn of events, a cheesecake. So I thought "cheesecake preparado" meant prepared cheesecake. It doesn't. I opened the box and found all the supplies to make a lovely cheesecake, minus the milk, butter, and water. But oh well. I've never made a cheesecake from a box before so this was a first! Adventures in Spain. If this is how they make cheesecake here, I'm going to need someone to send me an American cheesecake ASAP.

Did you ever think you would think that anyone would MISS Walmart? That's what's going on right now. There are no Walmart or Target-like stores here. There are grocery store, and electronics stores and LOTS of clothes stores. But no single store that sells a little bit of everything. I can't just walk into a store and grab some apples, a pair of shoes, and an extension cord. That's another thing I would love- an extension cord. I've gone to three or four stores looking for an extension cord, but can't find one anywhere. Is that an American thing? I have yet to find a hardware store or anywhere that might have one and surprisingly, the electronics store nearby didn't have one.

I definitely regret not bringing my normal backpack and instead brought my shoulder computer bag. Really going to have to swap those out at Christmas break.

But today was a nice day! Had my first real Spanish food- empanadas from a little restaurant called Dolce de Leche (they also had AMAZING chocolate cake with fudge and strawberry compote). Then we had our first architectural photography class, which was fun, but it poured. The food I cooked for dinner was crazy bland. I do not have any spicy seasonings and don't know where I can find any.

The lack of stores is killing me :( I'm definitely an American and need to be able to have a fully stocked and arranged kitchen.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page