top of page

Yes, There Are Flamingos In France

Instead of returning right to Barcelona when Christmas break was over, I headed to Paris! I keep saying this about everywhere I go, but it constantly amazes me the amount of history that Europe holds! Every day was a new adventure! From meeting new people to wandering around below the streets of Paris, the city was my classroom for a whole week. The first day, we headed to Notre Dame (the real one, not the one hanging out in Indiana) and then embarked on whole day tour of Paris. According to my fitbit, I walked a total of 11.27 miles. That's easy to understand when you realize how far everything is from one another. I mean we walked places that most people take the train to. But the first day, I also had the opportunity to see the Eiffel tower at night, which was gorgeous all lit up.

The next day we climbed up some 387 steps to get the the top of the towers of Notre Dame. I totally understand why Quasimodo had back problems, but don't get why he was so chubby. Catch me making that climb any time I want to lose weight... That being said, the view was amazing and the gargoyles and pigeons say hello.

While in Paris I went to three art museums, the Pompidou, the Louis Vuitton Foundation, and the Louvre. My favorite was definitely the Louvre where I got to see the Mona Lisa! I also really enjoyed seeing the MoMA exhibit in the Louis Vuitton Foundation and seeing the Persistence of Memory.

I also got to see two Corbusier buildings- Villa la Roche and Villa Savoye, which I have always dreamed of seeing!

Of all the other things I've seen, Versailles was my absolute favorite. I walked through the gardens (got really lost) and saw all the beautiful rooms of the palace. I don't even know what I can say about all the things I've seen there except to say what's in the pictures. Architecture brings people together. That's what I can say. When you combine the beauty of the building and their history with the magic of France, you meet wonderful people. Next time you travel, take a second and strike up a conversation. Meet someone from somewhere new. Embrace the world that you're seeing.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page